Strength

April 3, 2007

I love the movie Troy.

Right now I’m watching the battle scene between Achilles and Hector. So sick. I have no idea why I like it so much, but I just want to throw down my laptop and spear my TV or something. I know men need a battle to fight (thanks, John Elderidge), but I think it’s more than that. Compare this scene to the earlier fight between Paris and Agamemnon’s brother, Menelaus. Hector and Achilles fight with pure excellence. Paris just swings his sword around. I’ll give it to him that he’s fighting for something he believes in, and he does it with courage and passion,…but he sucks at fighting.

I want to be excellent at something. The best even. Something that I’ve been paying more attention to recently is cooking. I know my way around a kitchen, but I’m no Bobby Flay. I want desperately to be able to entertain well or (especially) to cook for my future wife Emily (woohoo) and completely sweep her away with the taste. Singing almost teases me in this way. I wish I had one of those rich, smooth voices. I often feel like I have a pitchy, meak voice.

Ultimately, though, we have to be content with who we are. God doesn’t see a pitchy, meak voiced boy who can’t cook or fight. He sees someone who is willing to serve and has gifts in a lot of other areas. I feel like God made me a teacher. He also made me athletic. I still want to cook well, and I’m going to work hard at it, but I can’t let lies about who I’m not affect the ministry God has for me.

Also: shout out to IMDB for the spellings of these crazy names.

One Response to “Strength”


  1. […] over a year now. I’ve never done that (tried 2 or 3 times before). Here’s my first real post. If you’re a blogger, go ahead and check out some of your early posts. How different are […]


Leave a Reply

