Why is work work?

April 6, 2007

My Eighth Grade Social Studies teacher laid it out for us: work is always going to be work. And, I wonder if I’m alone in not realizing what hard work is…in front of my computer in Ben’s Lazy-Boy.

Some days I need an arsenal of verses to get myself going, but here’s one that I reminisced about today:

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men (Colossians 3:23)

This was a camp verse, and any camp counselor knows you need verses like this to get through the Summer. Camp life was as satisfying as it was hard, and so was every missions trip I’ve been on. But, viewing my forty hours a week in Access or developing web-tools as satisfying is sometimes a stretch.

I don’t think I’ll be bold enough to provide some moral lesson in today’s post; I’m just venting.

You mean everyone doesn’t work in a Lazy-Boy?…I’m such a baby. (Philippians 2:14)

Leave a Reply

