Transitions Abound

September 13, 2007

This is my attempt at medicine.

Due to my Dad’s office move, Verizon decided to cut off our Internet for two weeks. As you can imagine, this doesn’t bode well for the work-from-home, Internet-based-company employee. And, as the planets continued to align, my boss and his wife (aka my old volleyball coaches), who live ten minutes away, took a vacation to Paris as a retirement gift for the wife. To make things worse (Internet-wise), my neighbor’s wifi flickering on and off all day and never put out enough signal for me to get a connection.

What was I to do as a Web Developer without Internet? Work at Panera.

For a total of eight hours between the past two days, I’ve pampered myself with coffee and sweets at the local Panera and worked on whatever needed to be done online. To my surprise, here I found my old bosses from when I worked at Panera five years ago. Funny thing was that this wasn’t the Panera I worked at; it was the Panera across town.

We really go through so many transitions in life. When you expect them, you feel – to use a cliche – the calm before the storm, and that’s what I feel now. I knew sitting in Panera that soon I’d be sitting in our new apartment in Montoursville and that this “inconvenience” of working in Panera was only temporary. Extending that thought, I know that when we go home from that apartment, my Mom will be living in a new house. For that matter, my Dad’s house won’t feel the same as it does now, which doesn’t feel the same as it did before I left for college.

Why are some transitions scary? Why do we sometimes hate our present situation and put all hope is in the next big transition?

I would never file my current situation in either of those rhetorical questions above (thankfully), but reflecting on these things makes me realize just how often things change and how natural it is.

No moral here – just easing Mike’s barren blog blues.

One Response to “Transitions Abound”

  1. michaelbreza Says:

    Much love, Thank you.


Leave a Reply

