The Giving Craigslist

November 1, 2007

Does anybody else have abandoned jewel cases from their CD collections? We generally put the CDs into a binder, which is far more practical, and toss the jewel case into a box or a closet or a [insert storage space here].

Does anybody know someone in need? Or, perhaps, does anybody know someone that could use a helping hand or an overwhelming gift of love? I remember I once thought about making and giving out banana bread loaves to people in ACF as an encouragement. I also think filling up someone’s pantry with soup and canned vegetables would show someone a lot of love.

I’ve been kicking around this idea in my head, and I want to through it out to see what people think. Basically, we could run a website where people could post what they need or what people they know need, and others could post things that they’re going to through away but someone might use (or sell).

I assume these types of things would be more easily launched if the/a church had a more established online social network…perhaps I’ll save that for a later post.

2 Responses to “The Giving Craigslist”

  1. Karl Fisher Says:

    I saw a thread like this on a music message board once. If you had something to give away, it went up, and if you wanted it, it went to the first person to ask for it. Seemed to work out pretty well.


  2. […] made me thing that my original idea might have been too small. Perhaps it should be simply a […]


Leave a Reply

