Learning Our Craft

February 22, 2008

* Thanks for Mike and Jessie for caring enough to say, “Hey, start blogging again!”.

Sometimes I’m motivated by pride or insecurity about not knowing. I’m sure you all can relate.

I notice this primarily at work, but we’ve all felt it in probably every area of our lives from time to time. Compared to others I know relatively little at times about what I do. (Note: This will not be a technical blog post; please don’t be discouraged.)

Recently I’ve had a hunger to learn more about software development and about Linux, and while I recognize that some of that might be pride, there’s much more to it. Brian and I had a conversation the other day about what we’ve been working on lately, and I shared with him this new-found passion (those of you who know me translate this as “verging on addiction”). He absolutely encouraged me in this, dispelled my doubt/insecurity, and pointed out that as workmen we should be pursuing excellence in our field.

Where am I going with this? Two thoughts:

1. I really want to learn about good programming practices, and I want to learn how to use Linux to setup web and file servers.

This would push me to be more rounded, and it would also allow me to setup some things to be more productive. I’ll try to do this without the prideful, nagging, “You’re supposed to be good at computers” voice I sometimes hear in my head. By the way, does anyone have an old, cheap computer I can buy to play around with?

2. I need to spend more time in the Word.

I felt very convicted when I realized how much I’ve been reading for work and for play and how little I’ve been reading God’s Word. I should strive to know it inside and out, and right now I’m simply trying to get through my measly few chapters a week. It’s really pathetic. I shouldn’t feel like a fish out of water when trying to articulate something about Faith. I should feel more confidence in my knowledge of the Word, still ever learning, and ever vigilant to speak to God and be challenged.

Just some things that have been on my heart recently.

Leave a Reply

