File Server, Ho!

March 17, 2008

As many of you might have heard, I’m looking for a junker computer to setup as a file server (and to learn system admin stuff on). Well, stop the presses, I found one. In my very own home.

I talked to my Dad, and we have a crappy computer in the basement crawl space. I figured it would probably be fine for such an application, so I asked if I could have it. It was left in shambles years ago, but I figured having some of the base parts (motherboard, CPU….case) would save me some much, so I could buy the other important pieces.

I asked him, and he said, “Sure, you can have it. You can have the 500 Gb hard drive I bought for it, too.” WHAT!?! I guess he had tried to set the computer up a couple years ago, and he bought this massive hard drive to do so.

So get ready world. Once I physically have this hunk of junk in my possession, I will have my own file server!

P.S. Spence, I’ll see what I can do for your Mac situation. I know there’s something you can setup for your files.

Leave a Reply

