Memorizing John

March 20, 2008

Over the high school youth retreat, I had some pretty awesome times in John. I suppose it was a combination of God talking to me, me not remembering some pretty cool stuff in John, and just a simple revisiting of some awesome scripture.

So, something hit me that I should try to memorize it. So, I started.

I’m still treating this as experiment, because, wow, that’s a lot of scripture to memorize, but hey, the worst thing that can happen is I find it’s too hard, and I’ve only memorized a few chapters. Not so bad. Right now I’ve got verses 1-34 memorized in John 1, and I’m getting fairly good at recalling them by just their number (although Karl stumped me twice in a row on Monday – how humiliating).

I’ve been slacking majorly this week. I memorized the first 28 verses the first week after the retreat (last week), and I’ve only gotten another 6 under my belt (over the weekend). I’ve done basically nothing this week, so I need to get on it.

Anyway, I want to bring it up, because it’s finally hit me how cool scripture memorization is. You have it with you all the time. It’s amazing how often things come up already where I can say, “Hey! That’s like John ___”. I definitely encourage everyone to set aside 4 or 5 verses this week and memorize them. You’ll be amazed how easy it really is, and you’ll be reaping the rewards sooner than you think.

P.S. I would love to do this with our high school guys small group. 😀

P.S.S Yes, it’s sweet that I’m memorizing a book with my own name.

2 Responses to “Memorizing John”

  1. mrwcase Says:

    this post was a nice kick in the butt to get back to verse memorization

    i started with philippians and got through the 1st chapter but would like to be able to do the whole book…so thanks for the motivation 🙂

    it was good seeing you all wednesday…hopefully i can make it up to williamsport sometime this spring

    p.s..what was the name of that blogger you had mentioned who has the quintessential short and sweet blogs?

  2. Christopher Says:

    Sounds good, it will be an awesome journey for you no matter how far you get. I have a web/writing ministry by the name of Dwelling Rich.org, so stop by if you ever need some encouragement.

    As you go through your self-given challenge of memorizing the Gospel of John I would ask that you would write down some of your thoughts, challenges, blessings and such so that I could showcase them on my site…if you would not mind, of course. :o)

    May God’s word dwell in you richly


Leave a Reply

