Things You Own End Up Owning You

April 1, 2008

Prerequisite: name/google that movie.

Just a reminder that materialism, while sometimes a non-factor in my life, can also be an obsession. Honestly, I want the nice TV and sound system. I want nice furniture. I want movies and music. I love to buy these things…but part of the experience is the buying for me, the action of spending the money. Why? I actually have no idea. It’s a even little embarrassing to say, but it’s kind of a rush – ok, maybe not the right word, but you’re picking up what I’m putting down.

I don’t have a moral really here, but I hoped it reminded someone else to watch out for it, too. I know I need to snap out of it and re-prioritize sometimes.

And, because it’s so good, a bonus quote:

Home was a condo on the fifteenth floor of a filing cabinet for widows and young professionals. The walls were solid concrete. A foot of concrete is important when your next-door neighbor lets their hearing aid go and have to watch game-shows at full volume. Or when a volcanic blast of debris that used to be your furniture and personal effects blows out of your floor-to-ceiling windows and sails flaming into the night.

I suppose these things happen.

One Response to “Things You Own End Up Owning You”

  1. karlo Says:

    fight club. boom. points are now accepted.


Leave a Reply

